Frequently Asked Questions
If you have any other questions that are not addressed below, feel free to contact us at (815)965-4638 or by E-mail at email@example.com.
- Who may enroll at DRIVE-RIGHT?
- Why do teens take DRIVE-RIGHT?
- Must I be attending or passing in High School to take DRIVE-RIGHT?
- What is the difference between High School Driver Education and DRIVE-RIGHT?
- When is it best to begin at DRIVE-RIGHT?
- What does the teen course entail?
- Must I take both classroom and behind the wheel(BTW)?
- If I have passed the classroom at high school, can I take BTW at DRIVE-RIGHT?
- If I passed BTW at high school but did not pass the classroom phase can I complete classroom at DRIVE-RIGHT?
- How often do classes begin?
- Must I start on the first class session?
- What will I have to bring to class?
- My son/daughter is a slow learner; will he/she have difficulty at DRIVE-RIGHT?
- How long does it take to complete the course?
- What happens if I miss class due to work, sickness or other commitment?
- When will I begin to drive?
- How are the BTW lessons scheduled?
- What kind of car will I be driving?
- When will I obtain my instruction permit?
- What is the “Computerized Letter” that replaced the “blue slip”?
- Are payment plans available?
- Is DRIVE-RIGHT insurance approved?
- Do you teach Defensive Driving?
- Does DRIVE-RIGHT accept late enrollees?
- How do I enroll?
*If the student is only 14 year old, they must turn 15 by the last day of the class.
- Conflicts in high school scheduling
- The opportunity to take needed courses for graduation
- Interference with work
- Vacation schedules
- The ability to obtain a license to work or help with family driving responsibilities
- Health and medical reasons
- Home schooled
- Missing the cutoff for high school Driver Education
These are just a few of the many reasons why DRIVE-RIGHT is preferred. The most important reason is parents and teens know that by starting as soon as a teen turns 15, he/she will have at least a whole year of driving practice in all types of weather and various situations.
There is no substitute for experience!!!!
What is the difference between High
School Driver Education and DRIVE-RIGHT?
DRIVE RIGHT is not locked into a semester schedule and therefore the course can be completed in a shorter period of time. A student will receive the same driver’s education required by the State of Illinois, but with a much more flexible schedule.
When is it best to begin DRIVE-RIGHT?
DRIVE-RIGHT recommends that you start as soon as you turn 15 years of agee. By doing so, you will be able to practice driving
for many months before going for your road test, therefore gaining valuable experience behind the wheel.
What does the teen course entail?
Thirty hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel (BTW) instruction and 6 hours of observation.
Must I take both classroom and behind the wheel (BTW)?
Illinois state law requires that you take both classroom and behind the wheel in order to obtain your license. If you have previously passed either the classroom or BTW at high school, DRIVE-RIGHT can help you complete that part which you may need. Please call for more details if you need just BTW or the classroom phase of Driver Education.
If I have passed the classroom at high school, can I take BTW at DRIVE-RIGHT?
Yes! In only two weeks you can complete BTW at DRIVE-RIGHT and save money and time as compared with taking the complete course. Call DRIVE-RIGHT for current BTW lesson prices and scheduling or check our fee schedule on the web page.
If I passed BTW at high school but did not pass the classroom phase, can I complete classroom at DRIVE-RIGHT?
Yes! In as little as four weeks, you can complete the classroom phase. Call or check the “Class Schedule” for current times and fees.
My son/daughter is a slow learner; will he/she have difficulty at DRIVE-RIGHT?
Absolutely not! Although we have tests in most classes, the true purpose of our instruction is to have the student learn. If a student has difficulty, we take the time to help so that he/she understands the answer. We also have an extremely large film library with the most current films on safety, alcohol, driving laws, rules of the road, and many more topics. The film’s are combined with lectures and book work to make the classes very informative and enjoyable.
What happens if I miss class due to work, sickness or some other commitment?
The student is allowed to miss 4 classes, but is required to makeup the work that they missed. This can usually be done during the normal class times.
When will I begin to drive?
Most students begin their Behind the Wheel (BTW) lessons during the second or third week of the course. These drives must be scheduled out side of classroom time. Some students prefer to wait until the classroom phase is complete to begin scheduling the drives.
How are the BTW lessons scheduled?
BTW lessons are scheduled at the student’s convenience. Lessons begin and end at one of DRIVE-RIGHT’s five convenient locations. Behind the wheel lessons can be scheduled as early as 6 am and as late as 9 PM, 7 days a weeks.
What kind of car will I be driving?
DRIVE-RIGHT has a new fleet of cars ready to teach you. Each car is properly identified for safety, contains dual controls, automatic transmission and is air conditioned for comfort. Van driving is available.
All vehicles are dual controlled for extra safety.
When will I obtain my instruction permit?
Instruction (learners) permit applications are issued during the first
week of class. Upon receiving your permit application you may take the
written test for your instruction permit at your convenience.
What is the “Computerized Letter” that replaced the “blue slip“?
2 to 3 weeks after your last drive, the Secretary of State issues you a “Computerized Letter” instead of a “blue slip“. If you are 16 and have had your permit for 9 months you may take your driver’s license test. You must show the “Computerized Letter” to the Drivers License Examiner in order to take your road test and obtain your license.
Are payment plans available?
Yes! We have payment plans to fit anyone’s budget. You may pay by cash, check, money order or credit card*. You can stretch your payments out as long as 6 months or more if you desire, call for details.
*We no longer accept American Express credit cards.
How do I enroll?
You may enroll online, by calling our office at (815)965-4638, by mailing in the bottom portion of our brochure, by stopping in at the main office in Loves Park, or by e-mailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org. The main office is open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Saturdays. Please feel free to call us anytime if you should have any questions.