We know that for students and parents learning to drive is both exciting and full of unknowns. Browse the list below to get answers to some of our most asked questions. If you don't find what you are looking for feel free to Contact Us.
Who may enroll at DRIVE-RIGHT?
Any teenager, 14 years* and 11 months of age or older may enroll.
*If the student is only 14 year old, they must turn 15 by the last day of the class.
Why do teens take DRIVE-RIGHT?
Besides being an excellent alternative to standard High School Driver Education, there are many reasons why parents and students prefer to take
- Conflicts in high school scheduling
- The opportunity to take needed courses for graduation
- Interference with work
- Vacation schedules
- The ability to obtain a license to work or help with family driving responsibilities
- Health and medical reasons
- Home schooled
- Missing the cutoff for high school Driver Education
Must I be attending or passing in High School to take Drive Right?
No, anyone who is of age may take the classroom portion of DRIVE-RIGHT.
Please call for details. (815)965-4638
What is the difference between HighSchool Driver Education and Drive Right?
Drive Right is not locked into a semester schedule and therefore the course can be completed in a shorter period of time. A student will receive the same driver’s education required by the State of Illinois, but with a much more flexible schedule.
When is it best to begin Drive Right?
Drive Right recommends that you start as soon as you turn 15 years of age. By doing so, you will be able to practice driving
for many months before going for your road test, therefore gaining valuable experience behind the wheel.
What does the teen course entail?
Thirty hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel (BTW) instruction and 6 hours of observation.
Must I take both classroom and behind the wheel (BTW)?
Illinois state law requires that you take both classroom and behind the wheel in order to obtain your license. If you have previously passed either the classroom or Behind The Wheel at high school, Drive Right can help you complete that part which you may need. Please call for more details if you need just behind the wheel or the classroom phase of Driver Education.
If I have passed the classroom at high school, can I take Behind the Wheel at Drive Right?
Yes! Drive Right can complete your behind the wheel lessons in as little as 2 weeks. Call Drive Right for current Behind the Wheel lesson prices and scheduling or check our behind the wheel only page to register online.
If I passed Behind the Wheel at high school but did not pass the classroom phase, can I complete classroom at Drive Right?
Yes! In as little as four weeks, you can complete the classroom phase. Call or check the “Class Schedule” for current times and fees.
How often do new classes begin?
Drive Right begins new classes every week to two weeks throughout the year. Times vary, making it easy to fit into your schedule.
Must I start on the first class session?
It is best to start the first day, but if that is not possible, you may join a class in progress up to the third session.
What will I have to bring to class?
Nothing. Drive Right supplies ALL materials: Pens, pencils, paper, and books.
My son/daughter is a slow learner; will he/she have difficulty at DRIVE-RIGHT?
Absolutely not! Although we have tests in class, the true purpose of our instruction is to have the student learn. If a student has difficulty, we take the time to help so that he/she understands the answer.
What happens if I miss class due to work, sickness or some other commitment?
The student is allowed to miss 3 classes, but is required to make up the work that they missed. This can usually be done during the normal class times.
When will I begin to drive?
Most students begin their Behind the Wheel (BTW) lessons during the second or third week of the course. These drives must be scheduled outside of classroom time. Some students prefer to wait until the classroom phase is complete to begin scheduling the drives.
How are the Behind The Wheel lessons scheduled?
BTW lessons are scheduled at the student’s convenience. Lessons generally begin and end at one of DRIVE-RIGHT’s four locations. Behind the wheel lessons can be scheduled as early as 6 am and as late as 9 PM, 7 days a week.
When will I obtain my instruction permit?
Instruction (learners) permit applications are issued during the first week of class. Upon receiving your permit application you go to the DMV and take the written test for your instruction permit at your convenience.
How do I enroll?
You must enroll online by completing a registration and securing a spot in a class with a $40 deposit.
The #1 Trusted Source for Drivers Education in Northern Illinois.
Our Complete Package covers the required 30 hours of classroom instruction combined with real world driving practice in rural and urban environments. Once completed, the student should feel confident in making proper driving decisions to stay safe on the road and will have everything they need to qualify for an Illinois State driver's license.